Maharashtra Open Carrom: Shivani survives with timely ‘White Slam’

Mumbai, Feb 15 – Indian contender Ajai Shivani showed amazing touch and scored a ‘White Slam’ during his come-from-behind 2-1 win against compatriot Naeem Ansari in a third-round match of the Rs seven lakh prize money Maharashtra Open Carrom Challenger’s Trophy 2023-2024, here on Thursday.

The Gujarat player Shivani tamely lost the first set to the Maharashtra player and was trailing 6-12 at the end of the fifth and penultimate board of the second set. Not prepared to give up without putting up a fight, Shivani with a timely last-ditched effort produced a ‘White Slam’ (break-to-finish) to win the set and take the match to the third set. He then seemed to have gained in confidence as he went on to pocket a tense deciding set to clinch a thrilling 6-25, 18-12, and 13-11 victory.

Meanwhile, Maldives National Champion Ismail Azeem after facing a bit of initial resistance from India’s Mujeeb Shaikh (IND) gradually came into his own and started to call the shots before charging to a straight set 15-14, 17-2 win in another third-round match.

Sri Lankan challengers Shaheed Hilmy and Anas Ahamed, both also enjoyed a successful day. Hilmy brushed aside India’s Premkumar Mishra racing to an 18-5, 22-13 victory, while Ahamed outplayed another Indian Bharat Makwana 10-5, 20-8. However, Gihan Chamara also from Sri Lankan, crashed out losing to India’s Mohd. Mustaque 8-15, 5-25.


Round 3: Ismail Azmeen (MDV) bt Mujeeb Shaikh (IND) 15-14, 17-2; Amol Sawardekar (IND) bt Sanjay Maniyar (IND) 17-12, 22-21; Abhijit Tripankar (IND) bt Sk. Yousef (IND) 21-11, 25-0; Fahim Kazi (IND) bt Vivek Kamble (IND) 0-17, 25-12, 24-11; Shaheed Hilmy (SRI) bt Premkumar Mishra (IND) 18-5, 22-13; Mohd. Mustaque (IND) bt Gihan Chamara (SRI) 15-8, 25-5; Zaheer Pasha (IND) bt Siddhant Wadwalkar (IND) 16-6, 25-0; Anas Ahamed (SRI) bt Bharat Makwana (IND) 10-5, 20-8; Ajai Shivani (IND) bt Naeem Ansari (IND) 6-25, 18-12, 13-11; Swapnil Golatkar (IND) bt Haroon Shaikh (IND) 10-25, 25-8, 14-6; Sandip Dive (IND) bt Atharva Telangi (IND) 19-12, 16-14; Jalaluddin Mulla (IND) bt Narsingrao Sakari (IND) 25-0, 8-25, 18-7; Nisar Shaikh (IND) bt Abdul Shoeb (IND) 22-17, 13-26, 20-11; Kunal Raut (IND) bt Vasant Vairal (IND) 25-2, 13-15, 18-14.


Share this article
Shareable URL
Prev Post

Now remix your YouTube music videos in Shorts

Next Post

Man enters lion’s enclosure at Tirupati zoo, mauled to death

Read next
Whatsapp Join