ICC World Cup Ranking: New Zealand Tops the Charts as Teams Gear Up for 2023 Showdown

With the ICC World Cup 2023 drawing closer, cricket fans around the world are eagerly awaiting the ultimate battle among the top teams. As the prestigious tournament approaches, it’s time to take a look at the ICC World Cup Ranking and see which teams have emerged as the front-runners. Hosted solely by India this time, the 13th edition of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup promises to be a thrilling spectacle, building up excitement and anticipation among fans worldwide.

Format and Participation: The ICC World Cup 2023 will feature a total of 10 teams competing in a format similar to the 2019 edition. The tournament will kick off with a round-robin stage, where each team will face off against all the other teams once. A win will earn a team 2 points, while matches ending in no result will grant each team 1 point. The top four teams from the round-robin stage will then progress to the knockout semifinals, with the ultimate goal of securing a spot in the highly anticipated final.

ICC World Cup Teams: While India has automatically qualified as the host nation, the remaining nine teams will need to earn their place through various qualification events. The primary pathway to the ICC World Cup 2023 is the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League. This league featured 13 teams, including the 12 Full Members of the ICC and the Netherlands, who qualified by winning the 2015–17 ICC World Cricket League Championship.

Top Contenders: The ICC World Cup Ranking, determined by the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League standings, recently concluded with the conclusion of the three-match ODI series between Ireland and Bangladesh. The league commenced in July 2020 and concluded in May 2023, providing valuable insights into the teams’ performances.

New Zealand emerged as the top-ranked side, securing the coveted position with 175 points. The reigning 50-over world champions, England, closely followed in second place with 155 points, while Bangladesh secured the third spot with 155 points. India and Pakistan hold the fourth and fifth positions with 139 and 130 points, respectively.

Road to the World Cup: With India, England, New Zealand, Australia, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, and South Africa securing automatic qualification through the Super League, the remaining two spots will be decided through a qualifier event in Zimbabwe in June-July. The qualifier will involve the five remaining teams from the Super League, the top three teams from the ICC Cricket World Cup League 2, and the top two teams from the 2023 World Cup Qualifier Playoff.

ICC World Cup Ranking:

RankTeamMatchesWonLostTiedNo resultPointsNRRPenalty Overs
1New Zealand (Q)24165031750.914 
2England (Q)24158011550.976 
3Bangladesh (Q)24158011550.22 
4India (hosts) (Q)21136021390.7821
5Pakistan (Q)21138001300.108 
6Australia (Q)18126001200.785 
7Afghanistan (Q)15113011150.573 
8South Africa (Q)219102298-0.0772
9West Indies249150088-0.7382
10Sri Lanka247140381-0.3694

As the ICC World Cup 2023 approaches, cricket enthusiasts are eagerly awaiting the clash of titans on the field. New Zealand’s top-ranking position in the ICC World Cup Ranking adds an extra layer of excitement to the tournament. With teams like England, Bangladesh, India, and Pakistan closely following, the battle for supremacy is expected to be intense. As the countdown continues, fans worldwide eagerly await the moment when cricket’s most prestigious trophy will find its new home.

Share this article
Shareable URL
Prev Post

ICC World Cup 2023: Teams Set to Clash in the Ultimate Cricket Showdown

Next Post

India Squad for ICC ODI World Cup 2023: Rohit Sharma to Lead, Shubman Gill to Open

Read next
Whatsapp Join