Pune: Deposits of all candidates, except Murlidhar Mohol and Ravindra Dhangekar, forfeited in the Lok Sabha polls

murlidhar mohol-vasant more-ravindra dhangekar ew Project

Pune: There were 35 candidates in the fray, including Murlidhar Mohol of the BJP, Ravindra Dhangekar of the Congress, Vasant More of the VBA and Anis Sundke of the MIM, in the Pune Lok Sabha constituency.

Security deposits of 33 candidates, except Mohol and Dhangekar, have been forfeited as they could not poll the minimum number of voters as per the rule.

The real fight was between Mohol and Dhangekar. The former defeated the latter with a margin of 1,23,167 votes. The BJP has its MLAs in the Kothrud, Parvati, Khadakwasla and Pune Cantonment assembly segments.

The Indian Constitution has bestowed the right to contest election on all its eligible citizens. Using the right, 35 people filed their nominations from the constituency. However, 33 of them lost their security deposits. In the Lok Sabha elections in 2019, there were 31 candidates in the fray while 29 lost deposits.

Rs 25,000 security deposit for each candidate

A citizen willing to contest the LS poll has to provide personal details, assets’ details that they own, an affidavit and Rs 25,000 deposit, along with their application. Thus, Rs 8.25 lakh was deposited in the government treasury.

Names of the candidates who lost their deposits

Name/Votes received

Vasant More – 31,991

Prashant Ranpise – 3,969

Anis Sundke – 859

Milind Kamble – 344

Neeraj Kamthan – 351

Manoj Vetal – 351

Yuvraj Limbole – 698

Vijayalakshmi Sindgi – 239

Subroto Roy – 293

Suresh Patil – 437

Hemant Patil – 374

Ashwini Khairnar – 412

Maruti Ambere – 433

Sandip Chormole – 1,655

Gorakh Ghodke – 1,451

Kiran Raikar – 1,052

Chandrakant Sawant – 314

Johson Kolhapure – 304

Dr Devyani Pandit – 645

Narendra Pavatekar – 533

Razzak Bagwan – 146

Baba Sayyad – 163

Dr Balasaheb Pol – 259

Mahesh Mhaske – 229

Yabis Tujare – 223

Adv Yogesh Makane – 298

Vijay Jagtap – 382

Sabbir Tamboli – 313

Sachin Dhankude – 788

Sagar Pore – 515

Sanjay Kendale – 311

Zonsho Vijay Prakash – 138

Share this article
Shareable URL
Prev Post

AIFF president Kalyan Chaubey attends annual GFA awards ceremony

Next Post

T20 World Cup: Australia hopeful of Mitchell Marsh bowling against Scotland

Read next
Whatsapp Join