Ghulam Nabi Azad to contest from Anantnag-Rajouri Lok Sabha seat

Srinagar, April 3 – Former Jammu and Kashmir (J&K) Chief Minister, Ghulam Nabi Azad, will contest the Lok Sabha election from Anantnag-Rajouri constituency.

After leaving the Congress, ex-CM Azad formed his own political party called the Democratic Progressive Azad Party (DPAP).

Talking to IANS, DPAP sources said that Azad will contest from the Anantnag-Rajouri seat.

Azad was defeated in 2014 by Dr. Jitendra Singh of the BJP in the Kathua-Udhampur Lok Sabha constituency.

Azad’s lieutenant, GM Saroori has already filed his papers for the Kathua-Udhampur constituency where Dr. Jitendra Singh is seeking re-election for the third term.

Senior Gujjar/Bakarwal leader, Mian Altaf Ahmad is fighting elections for the National Conference (NC) from the Anantnag-Rajouri constituency.

There are 18,30294 voters including 930,379 males, 988,888 females and 27 third gender who will cast their votes at 2,338 polling stations on May 7.


Share this article
Shareable URL
Prev Post

Delhi BJP issues legal notice to Atishi over her claims

Next Post

Kolkata building collapse death toll rises to 13 as man succumbs to injuries

Read next
Whatsapp Join