Over 70 pc votes polled in 8 LS seats of West Bengal till 3 pm

Kolkata, May 25 (PTI) West Bengal registered a voter turnout of 70.19 per cent till 3 pm in eight Lok Sabha constituencies that went to polls in the sixth phase on Saturday, an official said.

Polling began at 7 am in Tamluk, Kanthi, Ghatal, Jhargram, Medinipur, Purulia, Bankura and Bishnupur constituencies. It would continue till 6 pm.

Bishnupur (SC) recorded the highest polling at 73.55 per cent, followed by Jhargram (ST) (72.26 per cent), Tamluk (71.63 per cent), Kanthi (71.36 per cent), Ghatal (71.34 per cent), Medinipur (67.91 per cent), Bankura (67.41 per cent) and Purulia (66.06 per cent), he said.

Till 1 pm, the election office in West Bengal received 1,646 complaints, he added.

Sporadic incidents of violence were reported from some areas in the eight Lok Sabha constituencies of West Bengal.

Altogether 1,45,34,228 voters – 73,63,273 men, 71,70,822 women and 133 belonging to the third gender – are eligible to exercise their franchise in 15,600 polling stations.

Of the 79 candidates in the fray, Bankura and Jhargram have the highest number of 13 contestants each, followed by Purulia (12) and nine each in Medinipur and Tamluk.

Seven candidates each are contesting in the Bishnupur and Ghatal seats.

A total of 919 companies of central forces have been deployed along with over 29,000 state police personnel, officials said.

Share this article
Shareable URL
Prev Post

One killed, six injured in blast at explosives factory in Chhattisgarh; probe ordered

Next Post

Businessman-friend Shahin key suspect in MP Anar’s murder in Kolkata: Bangladesh home minister

Read next