Manohar Lal Khattar files nomination from Karnal LS seat

Karnal (Haryana), May 6 (PTI) Former Haryana chief minister Manohar Lal Khattar on Monday filed his nomination papers as the BJP candidate from Karnal Lok Sabha seat in the state.

Khattar was accompanied by incumbent Chief Minister Nayab Singh Saini, who also filed his nomination papers for the Karnal assembly bypoll.

Khattar and Saini held a roadshow from the BJP poll office here to the deputy commissioner’s office to file their nomination papers.

A large number of party workers and supporters, including sitting BJP Karnal MP Sanjay Bhatia and Rajya Sabha MP (Independent) Kartikeya Sharma, accompanied Khattar and Saini to the deputy commissioner’s office.

Speaking to reporters after filing his nomination, Khattar exuded confidence that he would win the seat.

“We will win all 10 Lok Sabha seats and Karnal assembly seat,” he told reporters.

Polling for the 10 Lok Sabha seats in Haryana, including Karnal, will take place on May 25.

Karnal Lok Sabha seat has been with the BJP since 2014.

In 2019, BJP’s Sanjay Bhatia defeated Congress candidate Kuldip Sharma by a huge margin of votes.

In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the BJP had won seven Lok Sabha seats, losing only Rohtak to the Congress. The Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) had won the remaining two seats.

In the 2019 general elections, the BJP swept Haryana, winning all 10 seats and smashing what were considered as “bastions” of prominent political families.

The Congress, which is contesting the elections in alliance with the Aam Aadmi Party, has fielded Divyanshu Budhiraja from Karnal to take on Khattar.

Share this article
Shareable URL
Prev Post

Pak Chief Justice slams commission set up to probe extremist religious group-led sit-in in 2017

Next Post

New all-in-one vaccine may prove effective against all coronaviruses

Read next