BJP wants to replace four sitting Shiv Sena MPs, no consensus yet: Sources

Seat distribution of the NDA-led Mahayuti alliance in Maharashtra does not seem to reach consensus as the BJP is pressing Shiv Sena’s Shinde faction to change incumbent candidates in four seats for upcoming Lok Sabha polls, sources told India Today.

Hingoli, Yavatmal – Washim, Shirdi and Kolhapur are the four constituencies which are identified as danger zones in the survey reports, an ex-minister from Shiv Sena confirmed. Incumbent MPs from these constituencies expressed their displeasure in front of Chief minister Eknath Shinde in the party meeting held on Thursday in Mumbai.

Shamburaj Desai, cabinet minister from the Shinde camp, however, assured that there are no differences over seat sharing, and it will be declared soon. All the rights to decide candidates are unanimously given to Chief Minister Eknath Shinde, he reiterated.

BJP’s Ramdas Patil Sumthankar along with his supporters, recently met Deputy Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis in Mumbai. He is being considered to replace Shiv Sena’s Hemant Sriram Patil in Hingoli constituency.

Yavatmal – Washim represented by MP Bhavna Gawli, is offered to cabinet minister Sanjay Rathod, who comes from the Banjara community and has clout in both districts.

Shirdi is the Schedule Caste reserved seat demanded by Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS) for Bala Nandgaonkar, senior leader and close aide of Raj Thackeray. However, they have been asked to contest on Shiv Sena’s symbol ‘Bow and arrow’, told sources. Also, incumbent MP Sadashiv Lokhande met senior party leaders in Mumbai.

In Kolhapur, after Congress announced Shahu Chhatrapati, scion of the Royal Bhonsale family, as MVA candidate, BJP is contemplating fielding Samarjeet Ghatge, another descendant of Royal family and a BJP leader, replacing sitting MP Sanjay Mandalik from Kolhapur.

Despite these four seats, BJP is also proposing the name of Vindo Patil, Maratha reservation activist and petitioner, from Sambhaji Nagar in place of Shiv Sena’s probable candidate Sandeepan Bhumre, who is a cabinet minister and five times MLA from Phaltan. Currently, Imtiaz Zaleel from AIMIM represents Sambhaji nagar constituency.

Congress leader Balasaheb Thorat took a dig at the BJP, saying the party will field their own candidates on seats allocated to allies. Shiv Sena and NCP have no choice but to succumb to the pressure and ambition of BJP, he said.

However, BJP Spokesperson Ajit Chavan reassured that all three leaders in the state have co-ordination and understanding among them. They are determined to achieve 45 plus target in Maharashtra.

Why Raj Thackeray and BJP need each other in ‘uncertain’ Maharashtra

Share this article
Shareable URL
Prev Post

CBI raids places linked to Mahua Moitra in Kolkata in cash-for-query case

Next Post

The ultimate guide to styling a fishtail lehenga for all body types

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Read next