2024 Lok Sabha Elections: Pune Set to Cast Votes in Phases 3 and 4

Maharashtra Gears Up for Multi-Phase Polls as Election Commission Announces Full Schedule

The Election Commission of India has unveiled the comprehensive schedule for the highly anticipated 2024 Lok Sabha Elections, with Pune gearing up to cast its votes in phases 3 and 4 of the electoral process. Spanning across 7 phases and covering 543 constituencies, the elections are set to commence on April 19 and conclude on June 1.

In Maharashtra, a pivotal state with 48 parliamentary seats, the electoral battle will unfold over 5 phases, commencing on April 19 and culminating on May 20. Pune, a key constituency in the state, will witness voting on May 7 during phase 3, followed by another round of voting on May 13 during phase 4. The results for all seats in Maharashtra are expected to be declared by June 4.

The Pune district comprises four Lok Sabha constituencies: Pune, Shirur, Baramati, and Maval. In the previous Lok Sabha elections in 2019, the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) secured victories in Shirur and Baramati, while the Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) and Shiv Sena emerged triumphant in Pune and Maval constituencies, respectively. Notably, all four seats in Pune are designated as unreserved categories.

The winners of the Lok Sabha seats in Pune district in the 2019 elections were as follows:

  • Pune: Girish Bapat (BJP)
  • Shirur: Amol Kolhe (NCP)
  • Baramati: Supriya Sule (NCP)
  • Maval: Shrirang Chandu Barne (SS)

Pune district boasts the highest number of voters in the state, with a staggering 82.8 lakh registered voters, contributing to Maharashtra’s total of 9.2 crore voters, comprising 4.8 crore men and 4.4 crore women.

Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar disclosed on March 16 that a record-breaking 96.8 crore voters are poised to participate in the upcoming 2024 Lok Sabha elections. With 10.5 lakh polling stations and 1.5 crore polling officials and security personnel mobilized for the electoral process, India prepares to reaffirm its status as the world’s largest democracy through this monumental exercise.

Share this article
Shareable URL
Prev Post

Meta and OpenAI Gear Up for AI Advancements: Llama 3 and GPT-5 to Introduce Planning and Reasoning Capabilities

Next Post

2020 riots case: Delhi court modifies order to allow Ishrat Jahan to practise law beyond NCR

Read next
Whatsapp Join